We will be back in Indiana in just 2 short days. I can’t believe our 2 week trip to Costa Rica is nearly over. I’ve learned and experienced so much in such a short amount of time.

We spent this week working with the Board of Directors of APOT, the organic farmer organization in Costa Rica. We worked with them to improve communications within their organization, to define direct goals and objectives, and improve marketing opportunties. We then met with other members of the group to help them define their roles within the organization and assist them in marketing and developing their products.

So how do I see this opportunity helping Indiana farmers and producers? The knowledge we have learned and connections we have made will assist us in helping others. By having a better understanding of struggles in other countries, I believe we can assist our producers in making better and more informed decisions.

I plan on offering educational presentations such as “Organic Farming in Costa Rica” and the “Flora and Fauna of Central Costa Rica”.   I am anxious to share my experiences (and many photos) with others. I want to thank Purdue University and Farmer to Farmer for this unique and absolutely fabulous opportunity.

Stacy Clupper

Purdue Extension,Ag and Natural Resources Educator, Blackford County

